Book Review: I Am The Messenger

Ed: We interrupt your normally scheduled mold/library report to bring you this breaking book review.

I read I Am The Messenger over the long weekend. I’m still not sure how I feel about it.

Did I enjoy it? Yes.
Would I recommend it? Yes.
Am I glad I read it? Yes.

But the book is bothering me, and all because of the ending. I can’t decide if it’s brilliant, or…something else. Which is too bad, because so much of the rest of the book is brilliant. A guy who everyone thinks is a loser (especially himself) gains minor fame after sort-of foiling a bank robbery. Soon after, he receives a playing card in the mail. It has three places and times written on it. Ed’s been given a chance to make more changes in the world – if he can figure out what he’s meant to do.

The book was darker than I thought it would be (though really, after reading The Book Thief I should have know). And some of the plot developments were extremely satisfying (though again, they surprised me more than they probably should have).

I think I owe it a second reading, just to see what stands out to me now that I have a better idea of what’s going on.

Got something to say about this book/post/what was for lunch today? Leave a comment!

– Signing off, Kit Gette (whose mysterious mail only amounts to bills)

2 thoughts on “Book Review: I Am The Messenger

  1. Pingback: Shipping Up To Thompson | calarcolibrary

  2. Pingback: Summer Reading Survey Recap | calarcolibrary

Leave a Reply

