Every Day is Halloween: Dr. Cox Guest Blog

(Ed: Despite our joy at being back in the library, we must remember that there are others still under siege by the demon mold. Today’s post is courtesy of  one of the Wandering Scientists, Dr. Kellie “The Law” Cox.)

So I’m a nerd. A big ol’ I-like-all-things-techy-geeky-sciencey nerd. And I want to let you know that my final step into total Nerd Immersion was just accomplished, thanks to the ridiculously awesome folk at the library:

I am now a Graphic Novel fan.

And not just the, “yeah, I know of Watchmen” level, but full-blown cracked-out fan.

This is all Mr. Gette’s fault. The library has this amazing supply of Kindle Fires, right? And he was looking for a selection of graphic novels to install. I was especially intrigued by the novel Long Halloween because I love me some Batman…. but I wasn’t ever really into graphic novels. This was always a source of crippling guilt – how could I NOT enjoy graphic novels? Surely my Nerd Card will be revoked. But I could never get into the flow of moving from pane-to-pane, trying to follow dialogue while also maintaining a tenuous visual connection with the artwork; opening up a comic book was like being hit in the face by a painting.

And then Kindle Fire rolls into my life.

Oh.
My.
God.

The electronic version of a graphic novel is like your own personal movie, bright and mesmerizing, complete with this ridiculous ~whooshing~ motion as you progress from scene to scene. No longer were my neurons confused and distracted by how to progress down the page – now I was able to completely immerse myself in the story and jaw-dropping artwork! The novel Long Halloween was aaaaaamazing and supplemented my Batman mythology well beyond what watching the movies could provide. And boy, it sure was purdy. I don’t know the artists that illustrate these novels (Ed: Batman: The Long Halloween was drawn by Tim Sale), but they rock my world with their ability to convey motion and story within a single, static pane.

Since then, Mr. Gette and Ms. Barrows have worked to fuel my addiction to the world of electronic graphic novels. My total immersion into Nerdom is complete.

And I couldn’t be happier.

(Ed: Thanks Dr. Cox! And we’ll be happy to keep enabling you suggesting new books.)

One thought on “Every Day is Halloween: Dr. Cox Guest Blog

  1. Pingback: New Graphic Novels on the Kindle Fires! | calarcolibrary

Leave a Reply

