Book Review: Daughter of Time, by Josephine Tey

Mysteries

The Daughter of Time

So I was scrolling through the catalog looking for mystery books to bring for the Junior School Book Mobile, when I spotted this book and shouted “We have this?!” Ok, I didn’t actually shout, because I was at the upstairs desk and that would be embarrassing. But I wanted to. This is one of my favorite books of all time. Josephine Tey wrote mysteries, but Daughter of Time was a little different. It features her usual detective, Alan Grant, laid up in the hospital with a broken leg. In order to cheer him up, a friend suggests he try to solve a historical mystery. Grant settles on The Princes in the Tower, and whether they were really killed by their uncle, Richard III. I can’t vouch for the historical accuracy, but it’s a great read.

-Signing off, Kit Gette (who, when asked to recommend a book to Mrs. Riley, chose this one)

Leave a Reply

