Summer Reading Preview

With summer fast approaching, I’ve been thinking about what to do with all that free time. Maybe learn Spanish. Hike the Appalachian Trail. Paint a sunset.

Nah, just kidding.  I”m going to read.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When I want to feel intellectual:

The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo by Tom Reiss

Mr. Peters read this months ago, and I want to be like him.  The story of Alexander Dumas’s father, the son of a count and a slave who fought under Napoleon.

Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk

I think any book that can be described with the keywords “war” and “satire” will inevitably be compared to Catch-22. Then again, I really liked Catch-22. The Iraq War, football, and incredibly persistent media coverage/promotion.

Jane Austen: The Complete Collection

I read Pride and Prejudice for  Wit and Wisdom lo these many years ago and loved it. That I’ve never read any other Austen novels is potential Read of Shame territory.

That is not to say that I will be reading ALL of her novels. At least, not this summer.

When I can’t access my Steam account:

Ready Player Oneby Ernest Cline

I got halfway through this a few months ago, put it down, and never went back to it.  Time to pick it back up, because it’s fun (and if you can’t play games, you can at least read about them).  A treasure hunt through an MMO/Second Life hybrid, guided by 80’s trivia (with a dash of dystopia thrown in for good measure).

Scott Pilgrim, by Bryan Lee O’Malley

Also sitting on my shelf at home, waiting for me to finish it.  Slacker and musician must defeat love interest’s seven evil exes to get a date.

When I need to know whodunit:

The Diviners, by Libba Bray

Libba Bray has been hit or miss for me. Beauty Queens was one of the best books I read last year, and  The Diviners has received some great reviews  – but then, so did  Going Bovinewhich I couldn’t get into at all.

A Simple Murder, by Eleanor Kuhns

Historical mysteries: my great weakness (along with zombie stories with good world-building, droll protagonists, and gummy bears). And I’ve been craving a good mystery (other than “where did all the textbooks go?”).

Aaaaaand a whole stack of others. What’s on your list? Any books you’re particularly looking forward to reading once you have the <gasp!> time?

-Signing off, Kit Gette (Yay books! Yay summer!)

2 thoughts on “Summer Reading Preview

  1. Pingback: Summer Reading Review: What I Actually Read | calarcolibrary

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Ready Player One, by Ernest Cline | calarcolibrary

Leave a Reply

