Category Archives: New Books News

New Books News!

With March Break just a few days away, we wanted to draw your attention to some of the new books just waiting to be checked out.

Fantasy

King’s Cage and Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard

The third book and prequel novellas in the Red Queen series.

The Darkest Part of the Forest, by Holly Black

In the woods outside of a town where humans and faeries co-exits, there’s a horned boy asleep in a glass coffin. He’s been there for years. Until, one day, he wakes up.

Caraval, by Stephanie Garber

Scarlett has always dreamed of visiting the invitation-only Caraval, a show where the audience is part of the performance. But this year, her sister is kidnapped by the leader of Caraval, and Scarlett will have to find her to before she’s lost forever.

Image result for ruby red trilogyImage result for ruby red trilogyImage result for emerald green book

Ruby Red trilogy, by Kerstin Gier

Time travel! Romance! Fancy dresses!

Steeplejack, by A.J. Hartley

In a fantasy South Africa, a chimney-repairwoman tries to solve the murder of her apprentice.

Every Heart a Doorway, by Seanan McGuire

Something goes horrible wrong at a home for children who once found their way to other worlds – and desperately wish to find their way there again.

The Weight of Feathers, by Anne-Marie McLemore.

The fates of a son and daughter of magical rival families become intertwined.

 

The Winner’s Curse series, by Marie Rutkowski

Political intrigue and star-crossed lovers.

 

Realistic

Saving Hamlet, by Molly Booth

A stage manager falls through a trapdoor her back in time to Shakespeare’s day, and the first ever production of Hamlet.

Allegedly, by Tiffany Jackson

An imprisoned teen who was convicted of killing a baby when she was 9 tries to prove her innocence to maintain custody of her own child.

Still Life With Tornado, by A.S. King

Sarah deals with her brother’s mysterious absence, her parents’ divorce, and her inability to make art as she always has.

History is All You Left Me, by Adam Silvera

Griffin deals with the death of his ex-boyfriend.

Beast, by Brie Spangler

Dylan, a boy whose exceedingly large and hairy for his age, falls for a girl in his support group.

Saving Montgomery Sole, by Mariko Tamaki

A girl who love the paranormal worries she will be bullied for having two moms. By the author of This One Summer.

The Hate U Give, by Angie Thomas

After witnessing her friend’s death at the hands of a police officer, Starr Carter’s life is complicated when the police and a local drug lord try to intimidate her in an effort to learn what happened the night Kahlil died.

The Serpent King, by Jeff Zentner

The son of a Pentecostal preacher faces his personal demons as he and his two outcast friends try to make it through their senior year of high school in rural Forrestville, Tennessee.

American Street, by Ibi Zoboi

Fabiola Toussaint is a Haitian immigrant learning to make her way at a new school in Detroit.

 

Science Fiction

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet, by Becky Chambers

A misfit spaceship crew is hired to punch a wormhole gate to a new planet. For those who still miss Firefly.

Dreadnought, by April Daniels

A coming-out story in two parts: as a superhero, and as transgender.

Image result for ruby red trilogyImage result for ruby red trilogyImage result for emerald green book

Ruby Red trilogy, by Kerstin Gier

Time travel! Romance! Fancy dresses!

Carve the Mark, by Veronica Roth

Graceling in space, by the author of Divergent

Scythe, by Neal Shusterman

Two teens are chosen to become a Scythe – grim reapers who choose who dies. Only one will succeed – the other will be killed.

 

Historical Fiction

Seeds of America series, by Laurie Halse Anderson

After being sold to a cruel couple in New York City, a slave named Isabel spies for the rebels during the Revolutionary War.

Front Lines, by Michael Grant

An alternate history where American women could be drafted to fight in World War II.

 

Graphic Novels

Trickster: Native American Tales

A collection of 21 trickster stories in cartoon form.

Black Panther, by Ta-Nehisi Coates

T’Challa, the superhero known as Black Panther and the king of Wakanda, tries to unite his nation in the face of a violent uprising.

The Nameless City, by Faith Erin Hicks

Rat and Kai bond over parkour, even though one is a native of a city that keeps changing hands, and the other is a member of the current occupying force.

Wires and Nerveby Marissa Meyer

A Lunar Chronicles story about Iko the android (with appearances from many other characters).

Lumberjanes, by Noelle Stevenson

A group of friends keep getting caught up in the strange happenings at their summer camp, from supernatural wolves and river monsters to raptors and Greek gods.

 

Advertisements

New Fiction News for March 2016

Hello readers!

We’re quickly approaching March Break, which means it’s time to come by the library and check out something to read as you sit on a beach or your couch or anywhere that is not here. May I suggest one of the new books listed below? You can click on the cover to go to that books record in our catalog. Happy reading!

calamity   red queen.jpg  broken.jpg  and again.jpg

library.jpg  thousand.jpg  accident.jpg  tlccontent.jpg

allamerican.jpg  ashley.jpg  avenue.jpg  childrens.jpg

crooked.jpg  dogs.jpg  fifth.jpg  find.jpg

forgetting.jpg  salt.jpg  since.jpg  hartgrove.jpg

truth.jpg  molecules.jpg  heart.jpg  alloy.jpg

bone.jpg  blood.jpg  gods.jpg  delicious.jpg

guest.jpg  find.jpg  people.jpg  short.jpg

simon.jpg  painted.jpg  uproot.jpg  bands.jpg

luckiest  year  rosalie

 

 

 

New Fiction News, December 2015

We’ve added a bunch of great new books to the Calarco Library fiction (and graphic novels!) sections in December. Completely new titles, sequels to popular stories, mythology mashups, podcast spin-offs – there’s a little bit of everything. You can browse many of them below, or take a look through the Calarco Library Catalog. Clicking on a cover will take you to the record for that book.

bazaar  finders keepers.jpg  trigger.jpg  nightvale.jpg

silkworm.jpg  career.jpg  baru.jpg  ruin.jpg

challenger.jpg  spinning.jpg  wicked.jpg  divine.jpg

revenant.jpg  grownup.jpg  gilded.jpg  plough.jpg

saga1.jpg  saga22.jpg  saga3.jpg  tlccontent.jpg

saga5.jpg  wind.jpg  swift.jpg  manywayters.jpg

New Fiction News for November 2015

Hello readers!

We went on a bit of a tear, adding over 50 new books to our fiction collection in the past month. You can browse many of them below, or take a look through the Calarco Library Catalog. Clicking on a cover will take you to the record for that book.

The Blue Guitar, by John Banville   tlccontent (1)   tlccontent (2)   tlccontent (2)

tlccontent (4)   tlccontent (5)   tlccontent (6)   tlccontent (8)

tlccontent (11)   tlccontent (7)   tlccontent (12)   tlccontent (14)

tlccontent (15)   tlccontent (19)   tlccontent (9)   tlccontent (16)

tlccontent (17)   tlccontent (23)   tlccontent (18)   tlccontent (25)

tlccontent (20)   tlccontent (21)   tlccontent (22)   tlccontent (24)

tlccontent (26)   tlccontent (27)   tlccontent (28)   tlccontent (29)

tlccontent (32)   tlccontent (33)   tlccontent (34)   tlccontent (35)

tlccontent (36)   tlccontent (37)   tlccontent (30)   tlccontent (31)

tlccontent (39)    tlccontent (40)    tlccontent (41)    tlccontent (42)

tlccontent (46)   tlccontent (47)   tlccontent (48)   tlccontent (38)

New Books News: Spring Edition

The Calarco Library has kept busy this spring finding new books for the Hopkins community. Check out the list of recent editions below or visit the library catalog to find a specific title.

*A friendly reminder: Calarco Library rents Kindles to staff, faculty and students alike with full access to our 600+ e-book collection. If you would like to check out a Kindle, stop by the library at any time!

New Fiction News: December 2014

Here’s what’s new in the library: come pick something up to read over break! If nothing here appeals, we’ve got hundreds more to choose from.

stone  tlccontent (1) stranger rev rith illgive m14tlccontent

The 5th Wave, by Rick Yancey

Who can you trust when anyone around you might be an alien in disguise – a hostile, deadly alien bent on conquering Earth? Cassie is on her own, trying to get her brother back, and is understandably wary of the people she meets (no matter how handsome). The aliens are wiping out humans – and they’re winning.

I’ll Give You the Sun, by Jandy Nelson

A novel in two parts, alternating between Noah and his twin sister Jude. There are three years separating Noah and Jude’s stories, with tragedy separating them. Love, loss, and a whole lot of art. Recommended for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell.

The Ploughmen, by Kim Zupan

The strange relationship – and similarities – between a deputy sheriff adept at finding missing persons, and a serial killer awaiting trial.

The Rithmatist, by Brandon Sanderson

Sorry, not the sequel to Steelheart (That’s Firefight  – it’s coming out in January!) This one’s about a boy who is fascinated by magic he cannot himself use. That magic: chalk drawings that become living (if still two-dimensional) creatures. And someone is using them to kill students.

Stone Mattress: nine tales, by Margaret Atwood

A collection of short stories that include a black widow, a haunted fantasy author, a woman in a retirement home dealing with both protestors and visions, and a woman mistaken for a vampire.

Stranger, by Rachel Manija Brown and Sherwood Smith

A post-apocalypse dystopia. People with strange powers. An ancient, dangerous book. Carnivorous trees made out of crystal. Telekinetic squirrels.

Telekinetic squirrels.

Stranger is finally out, three years after the authors refused an agent’s request to change the sexuality of one of the point-of-view  characters from gay to straight. You can read all about it here.

And more!

The Eye of Minds, by James Dashner

Midwinterblood, by Marcus Sedgwick

Monument 14, by Emmy Laybourne

Revival, by Stephen King

New Books News

Welcome to New Books News, a semi-regular column featuring new additions to the Calarco Library. This fall, we are highlighting some popular new items as well as books that should be popular, but aren’t getting very much play.

For a full list of new books, please visit Calarco’s What’s New LibGuide.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Fiction

The Goblin Emperor -Katherine Addison

Need convincing? Read Mr. Gette’s book review.

The Magician’s Land -Lev Grossman

EVERYONE thinks this book is the best installment in Grossman’s trilogy. Need convincing? Read the NYT review.

Ancillary Sword -Ann Leckie

A sequel to Ancillary Justice (which won all the awards).

We Were Liars -E. Lockhart

John Green gave Lockhart’s newest book his stamp of approval. Last time Green did that, it was Eleanor & Park. The guys is usually right.

Station Eleven -Emily St. John Mandel

A National Book Award finalist

The Winter People -Jennifer McMahon

Ghosts + Vermont farmhouses + creepiness = a promising story

Clariel: The Lost Abhorsen -Garth Nix

Fans of the Old Kingdom series will be quick to read this prequel. Interested in starting the series? Check out the Nix’s other installments.

Lock In -John Scalzi

Check out Mr. Gette’s book review. The short version is, “This book is awesome.”

Nora Webster -Colm Toibin

This guy is such a heavyweight that it is always worth checking out his latest book.

The Paying Guests -Sarah Waters

After reading The Little Stranger, I’m ready to read anything by Waters.

Frog Music -Emma Donoghue

If you loved Room, you should give Donoghue’s new (and very different) book a try.

Everything Rick Riordan

Graphic Novels

Smile -Raina Telgemeier

Sisters -Raina Telgemeier

Follow Raina’s story in this graphic novel series.